The Parks at Texas Star Baseball League



Section 1. Game Rules

- A. Games will be played under the latest rules and regulations as set forth by the current Official Baseball Rules as published by the Sporting News and USSSA, unless otherwise stated in these by-laws and ground rules.
- B. Notifying the Plate Umpire, the opposing Team Manager, and the official scorekeeper at the time of the occurrence that the game is being played under protest will constitute a protest, which may arise from interpretation of playing rules. Clarification: Judgment calls cannot be protested. Only rule interpretations can be protested.
- C. A protest fee of \$50, to be presented upon submission of written protest to a league administrator, will be required. This fee will be returned if the protest is sustained.

Section 2. Postponed and Rained-Out Games

- A. No league regular season and/or play-off game may be postponed without the approval of the Parks at Texas Star staff.
- B. It shall be the responsibility of the Parks at Texas Star staff to see that all postponed and rainout games are rescheduled and played at the earliest possible dates. All such games must be played during the regular season of play and before the end of the regular league season.
- C. Team Coaches are to receive 24 hours notice of all make-up games.
- Section 3. Bats will be kept off the ground when not in use.
- Section 4. Players will wear protective headgear with ear protection when at bat and also on base as a runner, or in the on-deck circle.
- Section 5. Players that are being utilized as catchers will be required to wear a catcher's protective cup. The team manager will be responsible for compliance with this rule. The umpire has the authority to make sure the catcher wears the required protective equipment. Players must also wear protective head, chest, and throat protection while taking any pitch from the mound to home plate. T-Ball is only required to use the protective headgear. T-Ball Pitcher will be required to wear helmet or facemask while acting as pitcher. Helmet/facemask optional for 8U Pitcher.

- Section 6. A coach, player, substitute, attendant, or other bench personnel shall not:
 - A. Deliberately throw a bat or helmet.
 - B. Fake a tag without the ball.
 - C. Maliciously run into any fielder.
 - D. Enter the area behind the catcher while the pitcher and catcher are in their position.
 - E. Call "time" or use any command or commit any act for the purpose of trying to cause the opposing pitcher to balk.
 - F. Use unacceptable language as follows:
 - Words, or actions, to incite or try to incite spectators to demonstrate.
 - 2. Profanity.
 - 3. Derogatory remarks that reflect upon opposing player, coach, umpire or spectator.
- Section 7. The substitute for an injured runner must be the last offensive player to make an out.
- Section 8. Manager, assistants, and players will not cause excessive delays during a game or just kill time in general in an attempt to win a game by running out a time limit deadline.
 - A. Coach Pitch only:
 - Each team, when on offense, may be granted not more than one (1) charged conference
 per inning to permit the coach or any of that team's personnel to confer with base runners
 and/or the batter. The Umpire shall deny any subsequent offensive team requests for
 charge conference.
 - Each team, when on defense, may be granted not more than three (3) charged conferences per game, without penalty, to permit a coach or his representative to confer with a defensive player or players. In any extra innings game, each team shall be permitted one charged conference each inning while on defense without penalty. The number of charged conferences permitted is not cumulative. A coach, player, substitute, or attendant may make a request for time for this purpose. Time granted for any obviously incapacitated player shall not constitute a charge conference nor shall a conference be charged whenever the pitcher is removed as a pitcher.

PENALTY: For any defense charged conference in excess of three (3) in a game, or for any charged conference in excess of one (1) in each extra inning, the pitcher must be removed as pitcher for the duration of the game.

B. Umpires will use discretion on calling time-out on injured players. The umpire will use his discretion on the rewarding of bases caused by time-outs because of an injured player.

Section 9. Uniforms

A. Only authorized uniforms approved by the Parks at Texas Star will be allowed in league play. For the purpose of the Parks at Texas Star Baseball League, a uniform is defined as hat, pants, shirt and belt (belt not included for t-ball). No alterations to the uniform will be

permitted. The use of leggings is optional and at the discretion of the Team Manager. If leggings are worn, they are worn properly.

Section 10. Team Managers

- A. Team Managers will not be allowed to umpire in the same league in which they are coaching.
- B. All Team Managers are responsible for seeing that their assistant, players and player's parents conduct themselves in such a way as to attain the objective and purposes of this Association.
- C. A Team Manager who habitually misses or fails to conduct sufficient practice sessions or games will be subject to dismissal by the staff of the Parks at Texas Star.
- D. Each team in the League will be allowed one (1) official Team Manager and one (1) official Assistant coach.
- E. Team Managers will be responsible for returning their team's equipment no later than one (1) week after the end of league play-offs. Failure to do so will result in loss of required equipment deposit and possible suspension from future participation in the Parks at Texas Star Baseball League.
- F. Use of tobacco by coaches and umpires will not be allowed while in the process of performing coaching and/or umpiring duties during games or practices.
- G. Team Managers/Coaches must be certified by Texas Amateur Athletic Federation (TAAF).
- H. Team Managers must attend one (1) coaching clinic annually.
- I. Team Managers and all assistant coaches that enter the dug out or field of play, MUST wear a official league id at all times during a game. ID's may be obtained at the Midway Rec Center.

Section 11. Practice

- A. Rookie T-Ball (U4) T-Ball (U6) Coach Pitch (U8)
 - 1 Practices are limited to no more than two (2) per week once the season begins. The season officially begins March 1st.
- B. U10 U12 U14
 - 1. Practices are limited to no more than four (4) per week.
- C. No practices will be held on Sunday or any day after 9pm.

Section 12. Game Time

A. Games will start at 6:00 p.m. for T-Ball. 6:00 p.m. and 8:00 p.m. (for all other leagues) on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday evenings. Saturday game times will begin as early as 9am. Wednesdays will be used as needed.

Section 13. Time Limit

A. Rookie Tball will have a time limit of 45 minutes. T-Ball (U6) and Coach Pitch (U8) games will have a time limit of 1 hour 15 minutes. 10U and 12U will have a time limit of 1 hour and 30 minutes and all other league games will have a time limit of 1 hour 45 minutes.

- B. Each team is entitled to a ten (10) minute warm-up prior to each game if time permits. This time includes time used before the scheduled game.
- C. A Game is over when and if the Home Team is winning when time runs out and the Home Team is at bat.

Section 14. Game Length

- A. Rookie Tball and T-Ball (U6) regulation games are five (5) innings in length.
- B. Coach Pitch (U8) and U10 regulation games are six (6) innings in length.
- C. U12, U14, U16 and U18 regulation games are seven (7) innings in length.
- D. If a game is tied after completed innings of play and the time limit has not expired, the game will continue until the tie is broken or the time limit has been reached. Ties do stand at the completion of time.
- E. Three innings (in 6 inning game) or four innings (in 7 inning game) of play will be considered a completed game. If play is discontinued because of rain, darkness, or other causes, which make further play impossible.

Section 15. Equipment

A. Regular standard baseball equipment, including bats, baseballs, uniforms, gloves, bases, pitchers mound, home plate, etc., will be used with the following exceptions: Metal spikes will not be allowed for U12 and younger.

SOFTBALL AND FAST PITCH BATS WILL NOT BE PERMITTED.

The umpire will remove any equipment being used in a game contrary to these requirements from the game.

- B. For Bat specifications: See USSSA Rules Book.
- C. Only T-Ball tees that have been approved by the Parks at Texas Star are to be used.
- D. Batters, base runners, and catchers for all leagues will wear protective helmet or facemask for safety purposes. In T-Ball, the pitcher will also wear protective headgear.
- E. It is recommended that all players wear a protective groin cup.
- F. U8, U10, U12, U14, U16 and U18 players that are being utilized as catchers will be required to wear a catcher's protective cup. The Team Manager will be responsible for compliance with this rule. The home plate umpire has the authority to make sure the catcher wears the required protective equipment. Players must also wear protective head, chest, and throat protection while taking any pitch from the pitchers mound to home plate.

Section 16. Batting Order

- A. The batting order shall consist of all players present and that order remains throughout the game.
- B. Each player shall bat when his/her turn comes, regardless of whether or not he/she has played in the field during the inning.
- C. Team Managers should have the batting order checked with the opposing Team Manager and official scorekeeper no later than ten (10) minutes before game time.

D. Any player unable to take his/her turn at bat due to illness or injury may be removed from the batting order without penalty, but may not return to the game provided nine (9) or more players remain in the batting order or the player may be charged with an out and remain ineligible to return to the game.

Section 17. Run Rule

- A. T-Ball (U6) Coach Pitch (U8) U10
 - The six (6) run inning will be in force and at no time will any team be allowed more than six (6) runs in an inning. Play on the sixth run should be completed, but no more than six (6) runs will be allowed.
 - 2. Games will be called in the fifth inning (fourth inning for T-Ball) if one team is ahead by seven (7) or more runs.
- B. U12 U14
 - 1. A 10-run lead shall be considered a complete game after 4 ½ or 5 innings of play.

Section 18. Batters/Equipment

- A. T-Ball (U6)
 - 1. The ball shall not be pitched to but shall be hit off a tee that has been approved by the Parks at Texas Star. The tee must be placed directly on top of home plate.
 - 2. The batter may not hit the ball until the pitcher is in contact with the pitching rubber and has made a pitching motion after the umpire declares the ball in play.
 - 3. The bat that will be used in all Tball play will be marked with "official tball" on the barrel and have a barrel diameter no greater than 2-1/4. If a player is found to be using an illegal bat, the bat will be removed and the coach will be warned. If any player is found to be using an illegal bat after it has been removed and a warning has been issued, the batter will be called out.

PENALTY: A STRIKE IS CALLED ON THE BATTER.

- (A) Batter may address the ball with the bat while ball is on the tee stand as long as the pitcher has not started pitching motion.
- 4. The batter is to take a full swing and ball must go beyond grass cutout in front of home plate. PENALTY: THE BATTER IS CALLED BACK TO THE PLATE AND A STRIKE IS CHARGED.
- 5. Any batted ball passing beyond the grass cutout and going foul is a foul ball, not a third strike situation. Any batted ball not going beyond the 5-foot circle on the third swing will be called a strike and the batter called out.
- 6. Thrown bat, batter out. (Umpire's judgment)
- 7. Infield fly rule will not be called.

B. Coach Pitch (U8)

- 1. A batter is out when he/she has received six (6) pitches without hitting the ball into fair territory or three (3) strikes; whichever comes first.
- Batter does not become a runner on dropped third strike.
- 3. Thrown bat, batter out. (Umpire's judgment)
- 4. Infield fly rule will not be called.
- 5. No bunting.
- No walks.
- Any ball hit into fair territory that comes in contact with the Adult Pitcher will be ruled a dead ball and the runners return to bases.
- 8. Any coach acting as pitcher cannot instruct/coach any of his team members while on the field once the ball is in play.

C. U10

1. A squeeze play is not allowed if batter is swinging away.

PENALTY: If less than two outs, the batter is out and runner returns to third base, with two outs, the runner is out.

- D. U12.
 - 1. In U12 and U14 leagues, suicide squeeze play is allowed on bunt and takes only.

PENALTY: if less than two outs, the batter is out, and runner returns to third base. With two outs, the runner is out.

Section 19. Runners

- A. The substitute for an injured player must be the last offensive player to make an out.
- B. T-Ball (U6)
 - Base runners are not allowed to steal or leadoff bases.
 - 2. In the case of an over throw on a play at first base, the runner must stay at first base and may not advance. If any other bases are occupied, those runners may advance one base.
 - 3. Time will be called when in the umpire's judgment advancement of the runners has been stopped.
- C. Coach Pitch (U8)
 - 1. Base runners are not allowed to steal or leadoff bases.

PENALTY: RUNNER IS CALLED OUT.

2. Time will be called when in the umpire's judgment advancement of the runners has been stopped.

D. U10

- 1. Runners will not be able to advance on a dropped 3rd strike.
- 2. Base runners are not allowed to lead off. They are allowed to leave the bag once the pitched ball has left the pitchers hand.

E. U12, U14, U16 & U18

 Base runners are allowed to lead off and may advance to the next base (steal) at their own risk.

F. FOR ALL AGE BRACKETS THAT WEAR FULL CATCHER'S GEAR

When there are two outs and the catcher has attained base, a courtesy runner will be allowed for the catcher. The courtesy runner must be the last offensive player to make an out.

Section 20. Players

- A. All players must play 2 full innings defensively
- B. T-Ball players should be played where positions would normally be played.
- C. No player in T-Ball may play the position of pitcher or first base more than two (2) innings per game.
- D. Players must stay behind the dugout fence.
- E. In Coach Pitch, the player that is in the position of pitcher must be behind the pitching rubber on either side of the Adult pitcher.
- F. T-Ball and Coach Pitch Leagues may play ten (10) players on the field defensively. The extra player must be used as an outfielder.
- G. A game may start with only eight (8) players. If a team has only eight players, it must take an out at the ninth batting slot.

Section 21. Coaching

- A. Each team is allowed a Team Manager and one Official Assistant Coach.
- B. No more than one adult may coach from the coach's box on each foul line.
- C. No Team Manager or his/her Assistant shall be allowed to coach from outside of or behind the backstop area.

D. T-Ball League Only

- 1. One defensive coach is allowed on the playing field while his/her team is on the field and must remain in the outfield.
- 2. The home plate coach will be responsible for removing the tee from the field of play after the batter bats. If home plate coach fails to remove the tee, runner will be called out on close play.
- 3. Defensive coaches may not intentionally interfere with the ball while it is in play. The ball will be considered dead and the runners will advance a base.

F. Coach Pitch League Only

1. Team may have an additional coach to be used as the Adult pitcher. This person must be a Parent or Coach of that team.

Section 22. Pitching Rules

A. Coach Pitch League

- 1. The adult pitching may pitch at any speed at which he/she feels the batter can hit the ball.
- 2. Underhand pitching is not allowed. Must be an overhand motion.
- 3. Once the ball is put into play the Adult Pitcher shall not interfere with the defense attempt to make the play.
- B. Pitching restrictions for 10U, 12U & 14U are as follows:

Pitching restrictions:

Age Group	Outs Per Day	Outs Per Week
10U	9	18
12U	15	24
14U	18	30

1. Violation of the pitching rules shall result in a suspension of the Team Manager for no less than one complete game.

Section 23. Scorekeeping

- A. The field Umpire will keep the Official scorecard and should accurately record the following:
 - 1. Number of pitching innings for each player on both teams.

- 2. Runs scored.
- B. The official scorekeeper must sit in the score box located behind the home plate.

 The Home team will keep the scorebook and should accurately record the following:
 - 1. Batting order for each team. (Only a Manager/Coach can protest hitting out of order.)
 - 2. Number of defensive innings for each player on both teams.
 - 3. Incase of a discrepancy, the official scorecard will be compared to the scorebook.
- C. After ensuring the scorecard is accurate, the following individuals must sign the score card.
 - 1. A coach from each team.
 - 2. All umpires officiating the game.

Section 24. SUSPENSIONS and SPORTSMANSHIP

- A. The Team Coach/Manager is responsible for the actions and behavior of his/her players, asst. coaches and parents. Failure to do so can result in the suspension of the Coach/Manager.
- B. Any Coach, player or spectator that is ejected from the Parks at Texas Star will also receive a two (2) game minimum suspension. The Athletic Supervisor may increase this suspension at his discretion.

ALL DISPUTES WILL BE RESOLVED BY THE CITY OF EULESS PARKS & COMMUNITY SERVICE DEPARTMENT.

Blast-Ball/Rookie T-ball Rules

Players Age:

1. Age requirements are, all players must be 3 years old by April 30

Playing Field:

- 1. Playing field will consist of all three bases plus home plate where batter will hit from a "Tee" and all defensive players will line up at least 38 feet away from home plate.
- 2. Any ball hit past the grass cut out will be considered a fair ball and the batter shall advance to 1st base.

Equipment:

- 1. All players must wear team baseball cap and team t-shirt supplied by the Parks at Texas Star. Cap and shirt must be worn during all games.
- 2. Gloves are optional. The game ball is SOF-T Ball and will be safe for kids to play without gloves.
- 3. All equipment for Rookie T-Ball will be furnished to the team and coach by the Parks at Texas Star. The coach is responsible for the care and upkeep of the equipment. Coaches prior to the start of the season will pick-up and after the season return the Blast-Ball equipment each season.
- 4. Parks at Texas Star furnished equipment will include: SOF-T Balls, bats, batting tee, and batting helmets.

Rules:

- 1. Each Rookie T-Ball team may have (2) coaches on the field of play at all times
- 2. Each team will bat its entire roster in each inning one complete time, which will constitute a half inning of play. Each turn at bat the batting order will be reversed. (Example: if a player bats last in the 1st inning he/she will bat first in the next inning).

- 3. When at bat, the object is to hit a fair ball, reach the base before the defensive player fields the ball, and throws to first base. Each batter will return to the dugout whether he/se is out or safe for the first three games of the season. The last three games, the offensive player may remain on first base or any base he/she advances to until such time that the offensive player is ruled out, the inning ends or the offensive player scores.
- 4. Each batter will receive a maximum of 6 swings in which to hit a fair ball. A fair ball is any ball between the foul lines and past the grass cutout in front of home plate.
- 5. When on defense, all players will play a defensive position at least 38 feet from home plate. **No player shall play catcher**.
- 6. Offensive players must wear batting helmets while on deck, at the plate or on base!
- 7. Coaches will also serve as umpires while in the field.
- 8. Outs and runs scored will not be kept.